Items you may also like

Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner

Turn down sensitive, reddened skin and signs of rosacea with this milky liquid toner. Makes other products work even better.
Item #: 125
  • Anti-Aging, Eczema, Extra Sensitive Skin, Redness, Rosacea, Wrinkles
  • Dry/Very Dry Skin
  • Immediately hydrates dry skin
  • Great to use around your eyes

View more product details

 
Notify me via email when this product is avaliable:

Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner

Fill out the form below and select your desired product options - we will notify you when it is back in stock.

 

We respect your privacy and the information you provide will NOT be sold, shared, or disseminated in any way. Please review our Privacy & Security Policy to learn more about our commitment to your privacy.

How can we help?

Our promise to you

Customer Ratings:

88 out of 100
(Based on 149 Reviews)
« Prev Page of 6 Next »
  1. Alicia M.
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 01, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Where have you been all my life!
    • Oh my gosh, this is the BEST toner I have EVER used! It's nearly impossible to find a really good toner without alcohol in it. I've used MAC Lightful for awhile now, but I have never likes how it leaves a tacky residue on the skin. Enter my testing out Paula's toners and I'm a changed woman! I use Retin-A at night, and it's important to me to have a soothing toner calming my skin in the morning. This does the trick and it feels WONDERFUL! Please don't ever stop making this product Paula!

  2. April
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 26, 2014
    80 out of 100
    • Rating
      Good / 4
    I don't really have dry skin, but it's so soothing!
    • I have combo skin, a few areas are normal to dry, but my t-zone is an oily mess. I tried one of the toners for oily skin and it irritated me a little. I also felt like it was too drying in some areas. I had a sample of this and loved it so much that I bought a full bottle. I like this one because sometimes I can get away with just using this and not using a moisturizer after. Depending on what day it is and what I have planned, using it that way works well for me. I'm repurchasing.

  3. K F.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 21, 2014
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Didn't know what I was missing!
    • I have had oily, acne prone skin my whole life, so now that my skin is dry and sensitive, I didn't think a toner would be of any use. (I'm in the age group where "toner" meant something that tingled and had alcohol in it). I got many samples of this to try out, and I'm sad that I'm almost out and have to wait for a full sized bottle to arrive. It really helps me see where my cleanser has missed, it feels soothing on my easily-irritated skin, and it's also nice to sweep on in between washing.

  4. Lillian L.
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 09, 2014
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Dries out my skin
    • While this toner purports to be hydrating, I found that when I used it, it seemed to suck all the moisture out of my face. A few times I applied it, let it dry, and delayed in applying moisturizer. Well, my face was dry and super-tight - I had lines forming around my eyes and mouth from my skin contracting from dryness. Lately I've been skipping the toner and just cleansing and moisturizing and my face isn't as dry.

  5. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, December 18, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    So gentle, yet effective
    • I've used this product for years, but never quite understood just how gentle but effective it was until the other night. After a long day, I removed my contact lenses and began my evening skincare routine. After removing my eye makeup, I was surprised to see I still had some traces of waterproof liner/mascara remaining -- very unusual for Paula's makeup remover! So I took another look at the bottle I'd grabbed -- and I'd been using this toner to remove my eye makeup instead!!! No stinging!

  6. Margaux T.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 23, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Not for my skin
    • I've been using this for 2 days and it's made my skin redder and emphasized the little red pimple scars I have. It also makes my skin tingle throughout the day. I was so excited to try this because my skin is very sensitive and I have a good bit of redness on my cheeks, nose, and chin. But unfortunately, it's just not the right product. The RESIST Anti-Aging Toner actually felt gentler, but that still was not a match. Next stop: the Hydralight Toner. Crossing my fingers

  7. Tracy M.
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 31, 2013
    60 out of 100
    • Rating
      Neutral / 4
    Gave me white bumps near my eyes
    • This is a fine toner, but when I used it near my eyes it gave me white bumps. I have used Resist toner, and that did not. Going to try Hyralight next.

  8. JENNIFER W.
    Reviewed on Monday, August 19, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    My favorite!
    • I have oily, breakout prone skin. This toner is gentle and just moisturizing enough that it is all I need in the summer. It removes any leftover makeup and leaves my skin smooth and even toned. This is one of the best toners I have used next to the Resist toner. I highly recommend either of these!

  9. Jinine Duncan
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 17, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Skin Recovery Toner
    • Hi, I had never used a toner before and really didn't think they could do anything for me, but this product changed my mind. It is brilliant. My skin feels so soft afterwards it is amazing. I think it is great value for money too.

  10. Kelly F.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 23, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Can't live without it!
    • I love this toner so much! It reminds me a lot of Japanese toners which are really just skin softeners. The ingredients list is of course great and has nothing that irritates my sensitive skin (I have Keratosis Pilaris Rubra Faceii on my cheeks) It calms that skin condition down a little. I also applied on a bad burn I had and it helped heal it faster than anything else I had, even pure aloe. If it does that, it's definitely healing the skin. Great product Paula! Highly recommend this!!

  11. MICHELLE T.
    Reviewed on Friday, July 12, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Superb
    • Absolutely love this toner: the consistency and ingredients are phenomenal. I've tried several different toners from various different lines (Estée, Clarins, Clinique, Lancome, Natura Bisse & Orlane). The search for the perfect Toner has ended! Don't waste your time or money purchasing anything else. I would have rated this product a 5 but I would love a larger bottle with a pump dispenser. This would work lovely either dispensing onto one's fingertips or directly onto a cotton pad. Thank you!

  12. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, July 07, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Game changer
    • I am mid-20s with normal skin. I didn't realize that my skin was so sensitized until I started using this product. Redness in my cheeks and chin has been banished. Stinging and broken skin on my face is gone. Through continued use, my skin looks notably calm. I also had never used a toner like this before and was impressed by how smooth and calm it made my skin. With my normal skin, I could get away with just using this toner (and an exfoliant) and my skin feels moisturized enough.

  13. sandrine c.
    Reviewed on Monday, June 24, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Perfect for summer!
    • I love this toner. It is a great consistency, creamy, soft and moisturizing without being overwhelming on those hot summer days. It help me remove the last bits of makeup without drying or irritating my sensitive skin. I love it. My skin definitively feel plumpier and fuller when using this. I will repurchase.

  14. KRISTIN d.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 05, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Very soothing
    • I love how this makes my skin looks - soft, glowing, smooth. I pour it directly on my hands and apply it to my face. I also put some on a cotton ball to remove any remaining eye makeup. Lovely!

  15. LF
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 02, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Holy Grail toner
    • I adore this toner. In term of texture, it’s a light, milky fluid and absorbs right into my skin and disappears like water. It feels moisturizing, but light enough to use more products on top. Most importantly, it is very soothing to my skin. I actually look forward to using this twice a day!

  16. Nicole B.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 22, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Very soothing
    • This is by far one of the best toners I have ever used. It feels so soothing and calming on my skin. It definitely reduces my skin's irritation and redness. It has helped a lot with my rosacea and dryness. Another excellent product from Paula!

  17. Patricia
    Reviewed on Friday, March 29, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Skin Recovery Toner
    • This is a remarkable lotion so gentle and soothing after washing it calms my sensitive skin. Love this product Don't change the formula. I love Paula's products . Patricia G.

  18. ninjaGlamour Beauty
    Reviewed on Monday, March 25, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    I use this twice or more daily on my dry sensitive skin and love it
    • I have very dry, sensitive, rosacea-prone skin and I use this toner after cleansing, before makeup, and anytime I feel like I want to freshen up and hydrate my skin. I poured some out from the bottle into a little spray bottle and use that to spritz. Makes my skin feel moist and silky and best of all - DOESN'T STING! (This is only one of two toner brands I've EVER tried that I can say that about)

  19. Mary L.
    Reviewed on Friday, March 15, 2013
    20 out of 100
    • Rating
      Worst / 4
    Not at all calming for this rosacean
    • My skin must be very sensitive, because this is not at all calming for my skin. I tried it once (not the same day I tried the 1% BHA Lotion: I always try new things solo several days apart.) and it irritated my skin immediately. I have found that certain combinations of mild cleanser and a little moisturizer keep my skin pretty pale and happy, but many other products irritate it. I really regret buying this.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Friday, March 29, 2013
    Hello there! Thank you for your review, and we're sorry to learn the Skin Recovery Toner wasn't a fit for you. It's tricky to know the cause of your skin's response, sometimes such a result may be due to a combination of products or environmental factors. Either way, no one is ever stuck with a PC product that isn't working for them, just contact our Customer Care Department and they can assist with a credit or exchange!
    —Admin
  20. HOWARD D.
    Reviewed on Friday, March 15, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Unimpressive
    • First off, I am a big Paula's Choice fan, and I have read her books since 1994. I like a few of her skin care products, and I always research her site before purchasing anything in a department store or elsewhere. She is very critical of the toners on the market, and rightly so, most of them are full of alcohol and irritating or contain nothing impressive. This one was not moisturizing, as claimed, and I feel Paula needs to put more work into her toners as well. All of them have been lacking

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, April 08, 2013
    Thank you for your review! We're sorry the Skin Recovery Toner didn't meet your expectations, and it seems your skin may need more than a toner alone. For those with very dry skin types, using a system approach is often the best course (pairing a rich toner with super-emollient creams, and an AHA exfoliant). Please contact our Customer Care and they will be happy to assist with a credit, exchange or additional recommendations.
    —Admin
  21. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 10, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    This stung and made me red
    • I am a huge fan of PC products and wanted to like this one. I wanted a toner to get off the last bit of junk that is always there, not matter what I use to clean. This irritates badly if I do that. In some ways, PC toner's are more like Japanese's lotions (toners), in that they are less for wiping and are more about adding the first layer of moisturizing ingredients and have a milky or watery texture. This is a GOOD thing. I now understand this concept better of PC's toners and think there is a lot to be said about putting some stuff under you moisturizer/sunscreen. However, this just makes me red alas. Not sure why and kept it a long time hoping that would change.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Monday, February 18, 2013
    Thank you for your review, and we're sorry the Skin Recovery Toner didn't work for you! How we respond to skin-care products has much to do with whether the product was the right fit for our needs, as well other environmental factors. Please contact our Customer Care team, we would love to help you with a credit and samples of our other toner formulas to find the right match for your needs.
    —Admin
  22. Joan
    Reviewed on Monday, January 28, 2013
    40 out of 100
    • Rating
      Poor / 4
    Does not work for me...
    • This is the first product I've tried from Paula's choice after reading through the reviews. I want a more moisturizing toner in the winter time so I selected skin recovery toner. However, it caused my face to breakout after only a few uses. Not sure whether it's because of the thickness of this toner or my skin is sensitive to some of the ingredients.

    Customer Service Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, January 29, 2013
    Thank you for your feedback. It is hard to know exactly which ingredient, combination of ingredients, or outside factors contributed to your skin responding negatively to this product. It can be difficult to identify which ingredient in any formula, even a well-formulated one, which could be causing some type of reaction. We encourage you to contact customer care so that we may discuss your skin type and how the product were being used. We are happy to make suggestions and arrange for samples to be sent out.
    —-Customer Care
  23. SandraKat
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 27, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    SUPER Hydrating!
    • This toner is all about hydration and balancing PH after cleansing, and it does a great job! I have sensitive, redness-prone skin that doesn't do well with most toners, but this freshening toner is perfect. The milky texture is immediately hydrating and soothing, and I love that it has such functional ingredients such as evening primrose oil (great for rosacea and sensitive skin repair) and Sodium Hyaluronate (a super-hydrator). I chose this skincare line because I need a lot of hydration for my skin and help with barrier repair - I have combination skin with slight oiliness, but I am sensitive and prone to dehydration. I have found that if I allow a few minutes for each product to "sink in" I have better results, and that is certainly true of this toner. I use this only at night, after cleansing and before any serums or moisturizer. I am enjoying the extra boost of cleansing and moisture that it gives my skin!

  24. Kat
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 17, 2013
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Not sorry I finally tried this!
    • For a long time, I considered toners unnecessary. After all, most I had used were either irritating or useless. At 56 years old, I have issues with breaking out (which has flared up with menopause), extreme sensitivity, flaky skin, eczema--and redness, although not diagnosed rosacea. I have been a beauty products junkie since my teens, mostly searching for skin care that actually works and makeup I can use without breaking out or irritation. I found Paula's products several years ago, and have gradually replaced my other products with hers. As a person who prefers natural products but is sensitive to essential oils--it's hard to find "natural" products that don't incorporate them--I at first found her "non"-natural approach off-putting, but hey, it works! More than I can say for the vast majority of other products I've used. For my most recent Paula's order, the reviews here convinced me to try this toner. I have been amazed! As I said above, menopause has caused my poor chin to flare up, basically looking like raw meat. This stuff is SO soothing--wish I could bathe in it! Combined with judicious use of the BHA 9, my chin once again is skin-colored. I will never be without this again. Thank you, Paula and team! We appreciate your dedication to effective skin care.

  25. JENNIFER C.
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 09, 2012
    100 out of 100
    • Rating
      Best / 4
    Another hit!
    • I love this toner. It's so hydrating and leaves my skin feeling ultra soft. I recently switched to the resist toner as I heard it was a "super-charged" version of this one. While I don't dislike the resist toner, I find it a bit more irritating on my skin (I do have rosacea) - thus I'll be switching back to this toner when my bottle is done.

« Prev Page of 6 Next »

What makes this product unique?
Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner has a richer consistency than any other toner you may have tried (save for Paula's Choice Resist Advanced Replenishing Toner). Its milky texture is loaded with skin-protecting antioxidants, essential lipids, cell-communicating ingredients and restorative skin-identical ingredients to leave your skin feeling silky-smooth and better able to recover from damage. Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner delivers key ingredients which are vital to reviving skin's intercellular matrix to help eliminate dry, flaky skin as it soothes redness and sensitivity. When used after cleansing, it helps skin restore and repair itself so it can look and act younger. It also works to remove last traces of makeup.

This product is 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Who is this product for?
Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner is best for dry to very dry skin, extremely sun-damaged skin, or those dealing with eczema or rosacea.

Sources to support the claims made for Skin Recovery ENRICHED CALMING Toner

FEBS Letters, December 2009, Epbulication; Dermato-Endocrinology, March 2009, pages 72–76; International Journal of Molecular Medicine, August 2008, pages 229–236; Clinics in Dermatology, November-December 2008, pages 614–626; Skin Therapy Letter, September 2008, pages 5–9; Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, July 2008, pages S7–S12; Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 322–329; Dermatologic Surgery, "The Antioxidant Network of the Stratum Corneum," July 2005, pages 814–817; Exogenous Dermatology, June 2004, pages 154–160; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, May 2004, pages 327–337; Dermatologic Therapy, January 2004, pages 16–25; Archives of Pharmacal Research, December 2002, pages 747–758; Toxicology Letters, December 2003, pages 65–73Skin Research and Technology, November 2001, pages 227–237; and Contact Dermatitis, November 1998, pages 231–239; and www.naturaldatabase.com.

Key Ingredients: borage seed oil, ascorbyl palmitate, vitamin E, vitamin C, allantoin, evening primrose oil, tocopherol, niacinamide, sodium hyaluronate, hydrogenated lecithin

Product Ingredients:

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane (silicone slip agent), Butylene Glycol (water-binding agent), Glycereth-26 (glycerin- and glycol-based water-binding agent), Dimethiconol (silicone slip agent), Oenothera Biennis (Evening Primrose) Oil, Borago Officinalis (Borage) Seed Oil (non-fragrant antioxidant plant oils), Sodium Hyaluronate (skin-identical ingredient), Tocopheryl Acetate, Tocopherol (vitamin E/antioxidants), Ascorbyl Palmitate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Panthenol (water-binding agent), Allantoin (anti-irritant), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient), Hydrogenated Lecithin (cell-communicating ingredient), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (emollient), Niacinamide (vitamin B3/cell-communicating ingredient), Superoxide Dismutase (antioxidant), PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil (emollient), Linoleamidopropyl PG-Dimonium Chloride Phosphate (stabilizer), Laureth-4, Laureth-23 (emulsifiers), Disodium EDTA (stabilizer), Sodium Benzoate, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Benzoic Acid, and Sorbic Acid (preservatives).

DIRECTIONS: Use morning and evening. Shake well. After cleansing, apply to a cotton pad and gently stroke over face and neck. Do not rinse. Follow with your Paula’s Choice exfoliant, moisturizer, and/or treatment product. For daytime, follow with a product rated SPF 15 or greater.

Detailed instructions on how/when to apply your Paula's Choice products can be found in our How to Put Together Your Own Skincare Routine article.

What do toners "tone"? I thought Paula didn't recommend toners!

Paula has always recommended toners that are well-formulated. Toners can be a great after-cleansing step to be sure you've removed all your makeup. When properly formulated, they soothe skin and provide an extra dose of antioxidants and repairing ingredients.

What are the main differences between Paula's Choice toners?

Every Paula's Choice toner repairs skin, provides antioxidants, delivers anti-aging ingredients, and helps remove last traces of makeup. They do not contain alcohol, fragrance, or unnecessary irritants such as menthol, peppermint, and citrus oils. Below you'll find a brief description for each distinct toner.

Resist Advanced Replenishing Toner is a specialized formula designed to supply aging skin with a broad range of ingredients it needs to produce healthy collagen while reducing wrinkles. It is a super-charged version of our popular Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner, with a specific emphasis on improving the signs of aging skin.

Hydralight Healthy Skin Refreshing Toner is an excellent choice for normal to oily/combination skin. It provides a weightless finish, and although it feels very light, it supplies skin with potent antioxidants and anti-irritants.

Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner contains a broad range of ingredients that aid skin's barrier repair process so those with normal to dry skin will receive even more benefit from their Paula's Choice moisturizer and/or treatment product. Moisture Boost Essential Hydrating Toner feels lighter than our Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner.

Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner for normal to very dry skin is for those who need more help protecting their skin from environmental damage, redness, or dryness. Skin Recovery Enriched Calming Toner has a rich, milky liquid texture and contains more plant oils and other emollients for intense hydration. Excellent for rosacea!

Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner for normal to oily/combination skin is excellent to help normalize skin and reduce signs of extreme combination skin (oily and dry areas). Its cell-communicating ingredients help balance skin and reduce enlarged pores.

Earth Sourced Purely Natural Refreshing Toner is for all skin types. It has a distinctive, liquid-gel formula bursting with antioxidants proven to repair skin and stimulate collagen production. The formula uses proprietary technology that truly captures the best of nature and modern science.

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.318
Skip to Top of Page
25% Off Cleansers & Toners | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.